Thank you*


Guru Nanak said, ‘Without a Guru none can cross over to the other shore.’ I would like to express my gratitude to my supervisors, Philip Kitley and Mark McLelland and Heather Jamisson from Learning Development Centre – for helping me crossing over to the other shore by supporting me with their academic excellence. Special thanks for Philip. If he did not keep challenging me from the beginning and pushing my boundaries I could not have learned as much as I did. My gratitude to Mark, you opened up new academic horizons for me. I wish also to thank Heather Jamisson for her generous offer to help me with technical and editorial insights and especially for her ongoing friendliness and academic as well as personal encouragement.

I would especially like to thank a number of Indonesian blogger communities and their members: Loenpia Semarang, Anging Mammiri, Aceh Blogger Community, Bali Blogger Community, Kayuh Baimbay, and Bertuah, for their support and friendships. We have witnessed that William Gibson is wrong, that Cyberspace is NOT a consensual hallucination.

I am indebted to my father, mother, and sisters for their encouragement. I have been fortunate to have their support and unconditional love in all its forms. From them, I understand what Jim Butcher meant when he said ‘When everything goes to hell, the people who stand by you without flinching – they are your family.

I share the credit of my work with good friends I have met throughout this journey. I would like to thank them for their good company and support: Inaya Rakhmani, Scott, Trish, Amelita, Nan and Pop, Old Man, Siew Lie, Robyn, Pieter,Rob, Michael, Frank, Paula, Asma, Didut, and Wedhouz. Emily Montague correctly said it: ‘Certainly, my dear, friendship is a mighty pretty invention.

Finally, I dedicate this thesis to Benedicta Gitanjali (Gita).

Thou hast made me endless, such is thy pleasure. This frail vessel thou emptiest again and again, and fillest it ever with fresh life. This little flute of a reed thou hast carried over hills and dales, and hast breathed through it melodies eternally new. At the immortal touch of thy hands my little heart loses its limits in joy and gives birth to utterance ineffable. Thy infinite gifts come to me only on these very small hands of mine. Ages pass, and still thou pourest, and still there is room to fill.
(Gitanjali – Rabindranath Tagore, 1910)

Thank you for your unconditional love, patience, understanding, acceptance, forgiveness and wonderful company. We did it, Apple!

*Acknowledgement, p. ii

One thought on “Thank you*

Leave a Reply

