Beard


Years ago, when I was still lecturing – I asked my students to watch ‘My Big Fat Greek Wedding’ in my Intercultural Communication class. My focus, in general, was on how these two cultures communicate. There were details I missed, because I didn’t know.

Living in a country of multiculturalism like Australia, I become more aware of a number of details in this movie.

Remember a scene before Toula Portokalos‘s wedding – when all her female family members gathered in the morning, preparing themselves? You might recall a lady who keep pulling hairs on her chin. Remember? That was her beard. Yes, beard.

From my friend, I know that the Greek women, especially when they get older, grow facial hair. Actually, my friend (she is 78 years old Australian lady) told me she shaves her facial hair every day.

I took it for granted, that in Indonesia women, most of them, do not have facial hair.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Beard

Leave a Reply

