Universe, grant me


Time enough, to do all the chores, join in the games, help with the lessons, and say the night prayers, and still have a few moments left over for me.
Energy enough, to be bread-baker and breadwinner, knee-patcher and peacemaker, ballplayer and bill juggler.
Hands enough, to wipe away the tears, to reach out when I’m needed, to hug and to hold, to tickle and touch.
Heart enough, to share and to care, to listen and to understand, and to make a loving home for my family.
Help me to be a good parent to my child. Keep me healthy and strong on those days when I am weak.
Remind me to love her and understand her and to forgive her.
When my patience seems too short, help me to stretch it.
And, let her know that she is receiving my extremity with love.

One thought on “Universe, grant me

  1. May today there be peace within
    May I trust God
    that I am exactly where I am meant to be.
    May I not forget the infinite possibilities
    that are born of faith.
    May I use those gifts that I have received,
    and pass on the love that has been given to me.
    May I be content knowing I am a child of God.
    Let this presence settle into my bones,
    and allow my soul the freedom to sing, dance, praise and love.
    It is there for each and every one of us.

    – St. Theresa’s prayer (with a little modification) –

Leave a Reply

