L-O-G


During our lunch today, Philip told his-story about cattle. He told me, back to 1275 cattle (n) means property, substance; strictly personal property or estate, wealth, goods. Cattle is what ever things someone owns. It can be a house or a horse or a plate or a book. What ever.

Then after lunch, off we went to the library. Philip wanted to show me the entomology of weblog. We picked one PC, then browsed on Oxford English Dictionary (online version) about weblog.

I was surprised.

Click this website then you find that according to Rebecca Blood – John Barger is the first person who coined the word “weblog”: “In 1998 there were just a handful of sites of the type that are now identified as weblogs (so named by Jorn Barger in December 1997).

You can also click this site, and find the same information.

No. It is not. He is not the first person.

According to Oxford English Dictionary (thanks, Philip) – the word ‘weblog’ firstly introduced in 1993. Back then weblog means “a file storing a detailed record of requests handled (and sometimes also errors generated) by a web server.

1993 web log (Usenet newsgroup)
1995 WebLog (Computer Technol. Rev. July 10/2)

weblog

John Barger started to develop his own website in 1997. Four years after Usenet newsgroup comp.infosystems.www introduced the word web log for the very first time. Although, what Barger intended to use the web to publish a log of his personal interests: “I decided to start my own webpage logging the best stuff I find as I surf, on a daily basis:‥www.mcs.net/~jorn/html/weblog.html. This will cover any and everything that interests me, from net culture to politics to literature etc.“.

Or, according to Oxford English Dictionary, the word ‘weblog’ refers to what Barger did means: “A frequently updated web site consisting of personal observations, excerpts from other sources, etc., typically run by a single person, and usually with hyperlinks to other sites; an online journal or diary.

I think the key is the same: a file storing of a detailed record. So, perhaps, Blood should have mentioned 1993’s version in her pocket. Don’t you think?

weblog. web log. we blog. do you blog? I do.

… and there, in front of pc’s screen said I: “This is interesting!
Philip sneered, saying: “Interesting? NO Clara! This is phenomenal!

🙂 So I love him more.

Picture borrowed from here.

6 thoughts on “L-O-G

    • Philip? Philip Kitley, my professor – my dear supervisor. father figure. my hero. oh. oh. oh. (lebay) but i have lova and hate relationship with him😀

Leave a Reply

