2010: Life time learning


There was once a peasant who owned a stallion. It was his proudest and most valuable possession. One spring day it ran away, and peope from the village came to commiserate, “Oh, what bad luck. What a shame”.

“Well, thank you for your sympathy, but we’ll just have to wait and see, ” replied the peasant.

Only a few days later, the stallion returned, and brought with him several wild mares. The peasant’s neighbors now came to offer contratulations: “Oh, such good luck.”

Once again, the peasant replied: “Well, thank you for your congratulations, but we’ll just have to wait and see”

Not long after the stallion’s return, the man’s son tried to mount one of the new mares, and she threw him off, leaving him with a broken leg. People from the village came to commiserate, “Oh, what bad luck. Now your boy won’t be able to help you with the plowing. What a shame”.

“Well, thank you for your sympathy, but we’ll just have to wait and see, ” replied the peasant.

When the fall came, and with it the harvest, the boy was still limping badly, so he could not do his share of the work with gathering in the crops. Then just as a people were offering their sympathies, along came a press gang from the army that look all the young men of the village of to fight a war. All, that is, but the lame boy.

All neighbors came to complain about the loss of their sons and congratulate the peasant father on the safety of his son. The peasant replied: “Well, thank you for your congratulations, but we’ll just have to wait and see”.

I thank God for last year, a year which I learnt so much things from live. Other might call them ups and downs. Now, I prefer to call them my process of growing.

I was all smilles and was crying heart out as well, yet sometimes did not know whether to laugh or to cry. Too many ups and downs. Too many dramas. Too many stress. But then, what?

I remember when I decided to start meditation. It was a time when I felt like I had no more energy to fight things back. It was a time when I felt I needed to survive. It was a time when I felt myself deserve to be loved by me. It was a time when I needed urgently to be able to love others unconditionally.

I started to meditate (again) in July last year. Slowly, I began to understand no matter loud I laugh, no matter sad I sob, everything remains. During my meditation journey, I’ve learnt trying to believe ourselves as the centre of universe. I have learnt that what our mind and heart do will lead us to how we will experience our world. That’s why now I do believe our world is what we choose to be, to do, to feel, to appriciate, to complain, to see, to believe. That’s why I manage myself to be more responsible to myself – both physically and emotionally.

Then after long journey, I found when we sincerely love other because we consciously choose to do it without wanting anything in return, nothing can harm us. Even when people you love doesnt love you back. Even when people you love hurt you. By choosing something counsciously, we are aware to take responsibility to ourselves.

Therefore, I believe when we say: “I want to love this person because I love him/her. I don’t want anything in return, just love him/her. I will stay ok if they just don’t love me back. If they do something bad to me because I love them, that is not my problem.” Certainly, I don’t count acts of being a stalker can be included in acts of loving. Because, most of the time, I found to love somebody means to let them go. I found, if our love is only a will to possess, it is not love. Love doesn’t mean to possess.

By the way, it’d been so hard for me to let things go. I still remember when did I do it for the first time. At that time, something astonished me. Instead of being misserable *I’d thought I would be*, I felt fine and good and wonderful. The act of letting go doesnt reduce my loving feeling to others, in fact it encourages me to love them more and unconditionally. It is soooo amazing.

Meditation helps me to realise life goesn on effortlessly. Deepak Copra calls it The Law of Least Effort. Grass doesn’t try to grow, it just grows. Fish don’t try to swim, they just swim. Flowers don’t try to bloom, they bloom. Birds don’t try to fly, they fly. This is their intrinsic nature. The earth doesn’t try to spin on its own axis; it is the nature of the earth to spin with dizzying speed and to hurtle through space. It is the nature of babies to be in bliss. It is the nature of the sun to shine. It is the nature of the stars to glitter and sparkle. The law of least effort invites us to be aware that our world is as it should be, nothing less and nothing more.

For me, this is crazy and very hard to do. All those sentences do make sense, but also don’t make sense for me, who used to question things. So, here I am, still doing my effort to say repeatedly my commitment: “Today I will accept people, situations, circumstances and events as they occur.” This means I will know that this moment is as it should be, because the whole universe is as it should be.

Now I am still learning to believe that that by excepting things as it should be, actually we are welcoming many opportunity to evolve. That story from China helps me to realise all things that have happened to us, have hidden meanings, which serve our own evolution – our own growth.

Now I believe, only by sincerely follow how nature unfolds – make a commitment to be acceptance, responsibility and defenselessness – will lead me to a positive growth.

================================================
Don’t cry in your beer. Get yourself straightened out.

3 thoughts on “2010: Life time learning

  1. Pingback: 2010: Life time learning « Tobytall's Blog | Drakz Free Online Service

Leave a Reply

