My love-hate relationship with STATISTICS *owch*


I believe, I’ve been attached to statistics for ages. Hate came first. Get to use it, and then love it. Believe me, I’d tried many tricks to shoo statistics away from my life – failed, yet lots of compulsory cases I had to deal mylife with statistics. In the other way around, many times, I find myself feeling enthusiasticly (and happy) checking the numbers on SPSS sheets *owch! you are geek!* It seems we – me and statistics – are meant to each other *wooooo hooo*

Still I prefer anykind of qualitative (this is silly, since – to be honest – using qualitative doesn’t help you to avoid using statistics LoL). Wait, let me think. What I am trying to say is – I don’t mind with statistics – BUT it is easier for me to not statistics *grau*.

So, is it my love-hate relationship with statistics? Sure not! According to researchers from Yale University, love-hate relationship with something/someone portrays low self-esteem. I don’t think statistics cause me low self-esteem (thinking to check then laughing at loud).

I didn’t intend to use anykind of statistics for my PhD project, yet now it needs statistics to complete my research *taking a very deep breath*. So, here I am – still awake at 3.56 AM, making my questionnaire, questioning myself: “What are off limits to me in using statistics for my almost pure feminist-stand-point-research” (thinking and checking whether I wrote right argument – as if “almost pure feminist-stand-point-research” should not use statistics).

“What I want is to be needed. What I need is to be indispensable to somebody. Who I need is somebody that will eat up all my free time, my ego, my attention. Somebody addicted to me. A mutual addiction.”
Chuck Palahniuk

======================================================
quote for today:
It’s easy to cry when you realize that everyone you love will reject you or die (C.P)
dear statistics, I will never reject you *cross my heart*

2 thoughts on “My love-hate relationship with STATISTICS *owch*

Leave a Reply

